Vegan MoFo – Day 5: Spinach and Red Lentil Soup

November 5, 2010

Remember, remember the 5th of November

I forgot, forgot the 4th.  I completely forgot to post yesterday.  Until just now.  Oy.

Tonight’s dinner was another Robin Robertson tester.   Another delicious tester.  Even more delicious, apparently, than the other two.  Stick with me… you’ll understand.

Cooking in the pot is a red lentil soup.  In the photo to the left, what I thought was an inordinate amount of spinach is being added (hence the name of the soup).  Of course, Robin is brilliant.  It wasn’t too much.  It was perrrrrfect.

As I was cooking, my son yelled from another room and asked if I was making chili (family favorite).  Ummmm…. sort of? (but not really).   I knew that was a good sign.  Sometimes my kids – even as growing, hungry teenagers – will turn their noses up at dishes that they deem unappetizing, based on how it looks.  So, I figured that if he thought it was chili-like, he would at least try it.

Cooking finished.  Ladled carefully into a bowl.

 

So when it came time to serve up dinner, I braced myself for a  “That’s not chili!” meltdown.   It never happened.  Phew!  I went with the “Looks like soup, tastes like chili” story.  And stuck to it. It must have worked, because, as you can see in the picture to the right, it’s all. gone.

No leftovers.

No “Whatever.  I’m making pasta/pierogies/mac & cheese /a can of black beans.”  Yes.  A can of black beans is sometimes lunch/dinner/snack  for my daughter.  She did add black beans to the soup.

 

Whatever works.

 

 

2 Responses to “Vegan MoFo – Day 5: Spinach and Red Lentil Soup”

  1. sheree Says:

    Well, if our weather ever cools down lentil soup will be on the menu. lol…YUMMY

  2. Linda Evans Says:

    Looks so good! I don’t know how Robin does it. How does she come up with more and more recipes? I am testing too. I should get on it!


Leave a Reply

