Coffee Rich – Product Review

December 1, 2010

 

I was at a grocery store on Monday evening that I don’t normally go to when something in the freezers caught my eye.  I think I stared at it for a full minute before I realized that it was the elusive Coffee Rich that I had been looking for for a year.  That’s right.  A full year.  I just scrolled back through some old emails, and found one from December 1, 2009 offering coupons for free products: French Meadow Bakery (which I honestly do not recall if I ever found) and Coffee Rich.

Did anyone catch that?  I found it in. the. freezer.  So, now I am wondering if every grocery store I’ve been to actually carries this product.  I have looked in every cold case/dairy case in every store I frequent for months and months (until I eventually forgot about it).  I have asked people that work in the stores.  No one seemed to have any idea what I was talking about.  Because it’s in the freezer.  So there is actually a readily available – VEGAN – coffee creamer on the market and it is nowhere near where anyone would look for it?  To me, it would make more sense if it were by the other “non-dairy” creamers in the cold case, or aseptically packaged near the powdered creamers/coffee/tea.

On to the review.

Let me first disclose that I received this product free.  I received an email requesting that I use the product, give a brief review, and a link back to the website.  The fact that I received the product at no charge has no bearing on the following review.

Short answer:  It is just OK.

Long answer:  I am thrilled to have found a vegan coffee creamer that is not completely soy based, although it does contain soy.  I am less than thrilled that it contains corn syrup.  The flavor reminds me of the non-vegan, plain Coffee Mate, which I never enjoyed.   At $2.59 for a quart, I think it is a little pricey.

So, in a nutshell, if you were/are a fan of “non-dairy” creamers, I think you will like this.  If I didn’t have access to any type of soy/nut milk, I think I could (maybe) get used to this.  But I’m glad I don’t have to.

 

2 Responses to “Coffee Rich – Product Review”

  1. BitterSweet Says:

    Very curious- Hadn’t heard of this one, and would have never gone looking for it in the freezer aisle. Too bad it’s not as good as it promises, but it’s nice to know there are more options out there.


  2. […] … or What To Do With the Rest of the Coffee Rich […]


Leave a Reply

